Assignment details

Location: BURRAGATE 2550

Region: South Eastern

State: New South Wales

Duration: 47 days

Dates: 20-Jun-2015 - 05-Aug-2015

Requirements: We live in the lovely Towamba Valley, inland from Merimbula and Eden on the far south coast of NSW. It is the best of both worlds, being quiet and peaceful but just a 35 minute drive to the lovely beaches of the Sapphire Coast.

As we will be away in the colder months we are looking for sitters who are used to wood heating systems as that is what ours is. There is also a wood or an electric stove. Wood is supplied but may need splitting and of course will need to be carried in from time to time.

Your pet/s are welcome as mine are used to visitors but our fences are not dog to jumpers and climbers. Families and friend couples are welcome. Our dog is a large Maremma and he may be overwhelming for smaller children but he is safe and friendly. We may still have one cat - a lovely fluffy boy - but he has kidney disease and may no longer be with us by winter. We also have 3 alpacas and some lovely chickens. There are guinea-pigs roaming around the garden as well.

Our home is 100 years old but has had work done it in the last 20 years, including insulation in the roof. It is not a fancy house but it is homely and comfortable.

There is an automatic washing machine, air-conditioner in the main part of the house as well as NBN satellite broadband and VAST free to air TV.

There is a large vegie garden and their should be some winter vegies growing for our house-sitters.

The main job is feeding and looking after the animals and this shouldn't take long each day.

It is a lovely spot for a wonderful holiday with local markets each weekend as well as opportunities for bird watching, bush walking and photography or art. I do have a studio space for anyone who would like to paint or draw or even try some pottery.

We have two cars and we are happy for our sitters to use if required, particularly if you have a large car and want something a bit more fuel efficient for getting around locally.

If you have a large van, the yard next to the house is almost flat and a good place to park while you stay in our home.

It is a 35 minute drive to the coast and 45 minutes to Eden. Fresh fish is available as well as oysters and mussels - for great prices. Or you can get a fishing licence and try fishing on the local river flats at Pambula and Eden.

The nearest shop to our place is a general store in Wyndham. It is open everyday except Sunday. They have a cafe there which makes lovely coffee.

This is a genuine rural experience but not too far from conveniences.

Sorry, this assignment has been closed.