• Suburb : Goorambat 3725
  • Region : Goulburn
  • State : Victoria
  • Duration : 34 days
  • Arrive : 22-Aug-2019
  • Depart : 24-Sep-2019
  • Pet care required : Dogs, Chickens, Birds
  • Special features : Caravan Parking, No Garden Care
  • Location :


We are on a hobby farm of 65 acre,s about 10 minutes from Goorambat township and the start of the Silo Art Trail, and live in a 120-year old weatherboard farm cottage. We require someone to mind our home, plus feed our dog, cockatoo and 5 ducks daily, and hopefully keep an eye open for the 4 horses and let a neighbour know if anything looks like being a problem!

We will be away in the UK for approximately 5 weeks and would prefer our dog Sophie, who is getting older and lives outside, to live at home and have some company, but no other pets (it could be considered, but we'd have to be very happy with the pet, and definitely no cats). Charlie the cockatoo needs feeding daily, and the ducks need their feed topped up every few days and their little pond needs a change of water every week or so.

There will be firewood for the woodburning stove stored in a nearby shed, and we have split system heaters in all rooms as well as electric blankets, so it's pretty cozy out here, but also very quiet as we are about 4km from any sealed roads. There is room for a caravan to park if that is your choice, or there will be a bedroom set out for you if you prefer. A fully equipped kitchen includes oven, microwave, dishwasher, pots and pans, etc, Also a breadmaker, rice cooker, slow cooker and so on. The laundry has a washer and a drier.

As we are on solar power without a battery, we ask if people could use the more power-hungry items - such as iron, dishwasher and tumble drier - during daylight hours to make the most of the power available.

On the property is also an Airbnb cottage, which will be having the weatherboards replaced during September - so you will have a bit of company from builders on some days. Also, I will continue to pay my cleaner who comes in for 2 hours once a week, unless you don't want her (she comes quite early).

The views here are to die for - we are on the top of a hill with 360 degree views including across to the mountains. We have very friendly neighbours, about 0.3 and 0.5km away, and both of those families have young babies. The property is 8 minutes' drive from Goorambat (fabulous pub) which is the start of the North East Vic Silo Art Trail. 15 minutes in the other direction is Benalla town, with 3 supermarkets, a variety of shops and a good number of coffee shops! We love living here and hope you will too.

Contact Homeowner

Sorry, this assignment has been closed.