Assignment details

Location: GOOGONG 2620

Region: South Eastern

State: New South Wales

Duration: 85 days

Dates: 09-Jun-2015 - 01-Sep-2015

Requirements: Our two dogs Max (Jack Russell cross) and Rosie (Aust. cattle dog) are looking for a pair of sympathetic house humans to take them for walks each day in the adjoining two thousand acres of lovely rolling country side. They really like humans and once tired out from a good walk will just hang about for pats and cuddles.

The spacious house is situated on 7 acres and is 10 minutes from Queanbeyan and 25 minutes from Canberra. You'll need your own vehicular transport (two wheeled) and there is a good tar road to the front gate.

During our winter the gardens are dormant. A typical winters day is sunny and cold with temperatures ranging from -5 to 10C. The house is at an altitude of 800m. There are spectacular views of the Brindabella ranges from the back fence. These ranges are snow covered most of winter.

The 15 chooks require minimal attention and are housed in a fox secure chock yard. When let out into the larger outer yard, they need someone around to keep them safe from the local foxes and close them up at night. They lay lovely eggs.

There is excellent 3G coverage in the house (Telstra & Optus). The house is warm in winter with a good wood heater in the main living area. The house has rain tank water only so you’ll need to be water wise. We would appreciate the house sitters paying for their electricity usage (rural rates) during their stay.

A retired couple with experience of living on small rural acres would be our preferred house sitters. We would expect them to be around long enough during each day to provide meaningful companionship to Max & Rosie.

Sorry, this assignment has been closed.