• Suburb : Bergalia 2537
  • Region : South Eastern
  • State : New South Wales
  • Duration : 73 days
  • Arrive : 10-May-2020
  • Depart : 21-Jul-2020
  • Pet care required : Dogs, Fish, Chickens
  • Special features :
  • Location :

Requirements

Hobby farm and dog sitter wanted for May - July 2020

We are looking for someone/ a couple to look after our 5ac/2 ha property located 12 km from Moruya, NSW, for 2.5 months. The main task is caring for our (by then) 1 year old Golden Retriever, but also our food garden and native plantings (plus 2 chickens). We are hoping to find someone who is experienced with dogs and a dog lover. Our girl needs daily exercise (to the beach or walking in the local area) and activities, and because she is young and a single dog needs human companionship. Therefore this arrangement would suit someone who really wants to be home-based. Ideally the sitter will be also be into horticulture as we have a fledgling market garden and glasshouses – so we want a plant lover as well! Plant tasks are not difficult or too time consuming but need a bit of knowledge - they include keeping on top of weeds in the vegi patch (winter so not too many) and managing the various watering systems (rainwater tanks, tank & dam pumps and irrigation). Limited watering (by hose) may be required to the 500+ native plants that have been planted on the property in garden beds and as part of creek restoration (not a big task). Despite it getting cool at night at that time of year (4 - 7 degrees averages), the days are typically still and nice (17- 20 degrees averages) and working outside is pleasant - there are no flies, no mosquitos and no mowing needed. And the reptiles are sleeping.

What we can offer in exchange is modest, free accommodation in a 'tiny' house (30m2 Mordek cabin) which has everything (power, hot water, TV, internet etc) but is only big enough for a couple (who get on well...). There is also a nearby re-purposed shed as an alternative winter space set up for reading, writing, art, watching TV, and also a workshop. The cabin is surrounded by a large dog yard so we prefer sitters who will use the cabin (hence be around pooch) rather than their own motorhome or caravan. Because of abundant wildlife, fox baiting and neighbouring stock our dog needs to be kept safe on lead when she is out of the cabin yard or the re-purposed shed. She is pretty chilled with this.

The location is a treat - the cabin is surrounded by trees (we were not burnt in the fires), we have lots of birds & a big dam, and we are 3 km from Congo Beach (off leash dog beach) and National Parks, and 12 km from Moruya. The property is quiet and is nestled among similar properties with friendly nieghbours. There is a strong community of growers in the Eurobodalla district to tap into.

Contact Homeowner

This home owner is still seeking a house sitter.

If you are already a member, please login if you wish to contact this home owner.

If you are not yet a member, you'll need to join before you can send them a message.