• Suburb : Rokeby 7019
  • Region : Greater Hobart
  • State : Tasmania
  • Duration : 5 days
  • Arrive : 21-Oct-2020
  • Depart : 25-Oct-2020
  • Pet care required : Dogs, Fish
  • Special features : Families Welcome, No Garden Care
  • Location : Public Transport, Supermarket


Please consider house sitting while I am away. This will include looking after a dog and taking her for daily walks. She is a big girl, with a wonderful beautiful friendly nature - a bull mastiff cross who doesn't know her own dimensions.

Our dog is 7 years old and we adopted her from the Dog's Home six months ago. She LOVES her walks, but she follows her nose and loves to chase cats. We don't think she was walked much in her previous home, so is getting used to 'walking etiquette'. That is, she pulls on the lead - particularly at the beginning of the walk when she has the energy - not so much on the second half of the walk when she's getting tired.

She hasn't been socialised with other animals. So, she gets excited when she sees cats (she's learning to slow down and just observe them, rather than chasing them). She knows where every cat lives and hangs out in the neighbourhood. She also doesn't know how to socialise with other dogs. Due to her size (I believe) other dogs bark at her, sometimes she 'charges at them', sometimes she freezes and her 'heckles' go up, and sometimes she bounds around and gets nervous-excited. So, you would need to be a confident dog walker, not let her off of the lead, be on the look out for other dogs, and trust that her energy comes from the love of the walk and the smell and she just wants to be a dog!

She is an indoor dog, with her own couch to rest and sleep on. She'll spend time outdoors in the backyard, soaking up the sun. On the whole she loves being where you are, doesn't complain, loves to watch you eat (and get the leftovers), wags her tail consistently, and has very expressive eyebrows. She's beautiful.

This our first time away since we have had her, and want to make sure she is looked after in her own home.

I'll spend time with you and show you how we work, and show you where we walk and our routine.

Contact Homeowner

Sorry, this assignment has been closed.