• Suburb : SHELLY BEACH 4551
  • Region : Sunshine Coast
  • State : Queensland
  • Duration : 39 days
  • Arrive : 21-Dec-2023
  • Depart : 28-Jan-2024
  • Pet care required : Dogs, Cats
  • Special features :
  • Location : Public Transport, Supermarket, Restaurants


We require experienced house and pet sitters who love cats and dogs. We live one minute from beautiful Shelly Beach and spectacular coastal walks to Kings Beach, Moffat Beach, and Happy Valley Passage. We are located in the heart of many holiday amenities on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland. The roar of the surf is our background music within a peaceful, friendly, established, leafy green neighbourhood. Our home is a relaxed renovated beach shack with a huge undercover deck and a large self-contained one-bedroom cottage at the back. We have a large wolfhound, Dune Buggy, who needs two walks a day for at least half an hour. Our lovely older dog Willow also needs two around the neighbourhood much shorter walks per day. Our Burmese cats are indoor cats and can't ever be let outside. The cats are on-the-bed cats. They are all loving and friendly. The main challenge will be to find someone who is used to large dogs and who knows how to be the leader for Dune Buggy. He will make you laugh, I guarantee it.

It's the perfect spot for an extended holiday in one of the most beautiful places on earth. We are a half-hour drive to the Glasshouse Mountains Hinterland, one hour north of Brisbane, 20 minutes to Mooloolaba, and 50 minutes south of Noosa. Whale watching, surfing, boating, dining, shopping, bushwalking, hinterland sightseeing, and galleries take your pick! Fly to Brisbane or the Sunshine Coast Airport. A car is available.

We are seeking someone who has undertaken dog training, primarily as Dune Buggy was a very badly treated rescue. He is a strong dog and is still learning to keep to himself on walks but occasionally forgets and lunges. He is very strong and is still riddled with anxiety that fluctuates but is slowly improving. He is the most beautiful 20-month-old wolfie with a very kind nature. We have had him for a year. I suspect by Christmas 2023, he will have finished all his learnings, but it is important that this is understood. Key requirements: strong and fit person, used to the commands typically used in dog training, used to large dogs, commits to walking the dogs twice a day for a minimum of half an hour for Dune Buggy and shorter for Willow. Used to maintaining consistent behavioral discipline. He would sit on your lap if you let him but he is never allowed to break the rules, as he will inadvertently hurt someone if he doesn't keep to himself due to his weight, goofiness, and long toenails. He loves to play with balls in our generous backyard but is never allowed off-lead. We often walk Dune Buggy first and then Willow for a shorter walk after, so it's usually 2 hours of walking a day. Both dogs are outside dogs and have clean and comfy bed areas. Thank you very much for your application, but this is the most essential part of our needs. If this still is of interest and within your capability, I would love to talk to you.

Contact Homeowner

Sorry, this assignment has been closed.