• Suburb : Upwey 3158
  • Region : Melbourne
  • State : Victoria
  • Duration : 106 days
  • Arrive : 05-Jan-2020
  • Depart : 19-Apr-2020
  • Pet care required : Dogs
  • Special features :
  • Location : Public Transport


Hi there,

In March we welcomed a 4 year old rescue dog into our home. Ruby is an american staffy, and as is typical of the breed, she suffers from separation anxiety. This is compounded by spending a number of months in the animal shelter, and then after coming home for 4 months and settling into the apartment downstairs with my partners mum, she had yet another change. After adjusting to life in her forever home, my partners mum had to unexpectedly return to hospital for an operation, and then move into transition care while she heals and waits on her 2nd operation. This has been another change for Ruby in her short time with us, as she has had to move upstairs to live with us. As we are heading overseas for 3 months and my partners mum will remain in transition care, we are looking for a responsible, firm and loving carer for our 4 legged friend Ruby, who can continue the routine we have created for her, whilst giving her lots of love, and very firm boundaries.

We do not leave the country until January 23rd, however we'd really prefer to have an integration period for you and Ruby, so that it is not another sudden change for her. This way we are also around to answer any questions you may have.

You will be living downstairs in a large self contained apartment with Ruby, that she calls home. There is wifi available, and we do need you to water the plants occasionally too! We do ask that you contribute $50 per week to cover bills, whilst you will live rent free in exchange for caring for Ruby. There is a beautiful deck overlooking the bush that Ruby likes to sun herself on, and an enclosed area she has to go to the toilet and enjoy being outside.

Ruby can be very convincing that she is allowed on the couch and the bed for cuddles, but we have found enforcing this boundary and not allowing her up for cuddles has helped with her separation anxiety, so that when you leave the house she is not as distressed.

Ruby's ideal carer will be home regularly, enjoy walking and playing with her, and be very firm so she knows the expectations and can do her best as she loves to please.

Contact Homeowner

Sorry, this assignment has been closed.