• Suburb : DONVALE 3111
  • Region : Melbourne
  • State : Victoria
  • Duration : 200 days
  • Arrive : 14-Dec-2023
  • Depart : 30-Jun-2024
  • Pet care required : Dogs, Rabbits / Guinea Pigs
  • Special features : Caravan Parking, Families Welcome, Dogs Welcome
  • Location : Public Transport, Supermarket, Restaurants



We are looking for a couple or family to look after our big, super friendly and very well mannered 5yr old Bernese mountain Dog, Otto, and larger house in Donvale, for an extended period. We are taking advantage of long service leave and taking our kids to live overseas for 6 months. To experience school and life on the other side of the world. We are aiming for 6-7 months.

Our house is 5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms and on an acre, 22kms from the CBD of Melbourne. It's a slice of country but with city conveniences. Due to the size of the property, it would be better suited for a couple or a family. Bus stop at the end of the street that takes you to the local station. Or 5 min drive to train stations that will take you to the city. 5 mins drive from Eastland shopping centre. We have beautiful views of the Dandenong ranges and are close to lots of lovely walks.

The backyard has a big, ninja playground in it and lots of grassed area for running around. Presently we have a funny, little guinea pig in the large veggie patch- who is fairly free range and needs little care.

The house sitter will need to be happy with managing a large block of land. It requires mowing approx 3-4 weekly and needs to be done with a push mower, due to the trees and slope of the block. But don't worry, not all of the area needs mowing, there are free growing areas as well. We have an electric battery powered mower for you to use. All our garden tools are battery powered.

The house sitter will also need to be comfortable with regular vacuuming as Otto sheds a lot of hair, you'll find yourself vacuuming second daily. This is made easier by having carpet only in the bedrooms.

Otto is happy with other animals so if you have a dog of your own, that's ok. He is a little arthritic so exercise needs to be managed. He is not allowed on furniture, beds and will not get fed snacks while you are eating. We have worked hard for him to not beg while you are eating. He will lay under the kitchen table while you eat dinner and not request any food (this is not to say that he doesn't get treats, it's just that they are not associated with you eating). He lives for pats and will come sit on your feet and request pats. Loves to hang out with you, no matter what you're doing. We will miss him incredibly while we are away so need to make sure that he going to be really loved.

We have family that may be able to look after Otto for short stints, if you are traveling and would like to have a week or two off to explore another area.

Thank you for considering and I look forward to hearing from you.


Contact Homeowner

Sorry, this assignment has been closed.