• Suburb : Robe 5276
  • Region : South East
  • State : South Australia
  • Duration : 24 days
  • Arrive : 18-Aug-2019
  • Depart : 10-Sep-2019

Requirements

We're a mature couple, Marion and Lyn, who returned to Australia 10 years ago after 20+ years overseas working in development and aid in the field of education. We have now retired but like to spend a fair bit of time away from home getting to know Australia better or travelling overseas. We often travel with our dog and 3 cats but there are times when it isn't possible to take them (or all of them) with us, and this is when we need house-sitters. We love travelling but we also love living in Robe - basically because the environment is so beautiful.

We live in a small, comfortable home with an open living/dining/kitchen area that looks out onto a river and lake. Our house is 2 minutes walk from Long Beach and a 20-minute cliff walk, or a bit less along the road, into Robe itself. We have solar panels and a water tank as our attempt at being environmentally conscious. A free-standing wood fire and reverse-cycle keep the whole house warm and cosy during the colder months. We have a smart TV with Netflix and there’s a fair range of free-to-air stations available. The music system is good, the kitchen well equipped and there’s Wi-Fi throughout the house. Outside there's a covered patio area and a small back lawn and garden. The whole of this area has a 'zapper' fence around it which keeps our cats in and other cats out. There are no houses opposite or directly behind and only one neighbour along the side (and she's seldom there). The lake opposite the house attracts all types of water birds. If you're lucky, you'll see pelicans soaring in, and other bird life is on view all the time.

Robe is an historic town with lovely old buildings and fantastic beaches suitable for walking as well as a rugged coast line. The town is very well catered for in terms of restaurants and boutique shops (and one very well sourced supermarket) and it even has its own small, 2 screen cinema. Though there is no public transport or taxi, everything is within walking distance ... if you enjoy walking. The permanent population is about 1500 though that does swell to 10,000+ during summer!

As far as the wider area is concerned, there're beaches everywhere and lots of pine forests, Limestone Coast boutique wineries are only a 15 minute drive away and the Coonawarra is an easy day trip. Other day trips could take you to the southern parts of the Coorong, Mt Gambier, historic Beachport, or Bool Lagoon. Our nearest large town is Mount Gambier which is an hour and a half away and driving to Adelaide takes about 3 and a half hours.

Our regular house sitters have had a medical emergency and have had to cancel so we urgently need house sitters for the period from the 18th of August to 10th of September and again from the 20th of September until the 14th of October.

We expect our house sitter(s) to be non-smokers and animal lovers. Our cats require feeding twice a day, and cuddles as per requested although they will take some time to ‘relate’ to you. Our garden is very small but may require some watering, especially the hanging baskets and indoor plants. The lawns are mowed by our ‘handy person’.

Contact Homeowner

Sorry, this assignment has been closed.