• Suburb : COLLINSVALE 7012
  • Region : Greater Hobart
  • State : Tasmania
  • Duration : 26 days
  • Arrive : 23-May-2024
  • Depart : 17-Jun-2024
  • Pet care required : Dogs, Livestock
  • Special features : Caravan Parking, Families Welcome, No Garden Care
  • Location :


Hi there!

We are going overseas for 3 weeks at the end of May and are looking for someone reliable and with common sense to look after our little farm in Collinsvale, Tasmania, which is on the hills 20 mins north of Hobart.

We have 2 horses, who are very affectionate and easy to handle who only require feeding once a day (and the older gentleman needs to be rugged at night) and just generally keeping an eye on them. Rayo is a 23 y.o aloof but easy going Thoroughbred and Ferguson is a massive 8 y.o Shire.

The house ladies are Emma a 15 y.o kelpie X and Luna a young Maremma, both are real sooks and are inside dogs, we live on a quiet dead-end road and the highlight of their days are going for a walk and getting cuddles.

We have renovated the 1890’s farmhouse and transformed it into a spacious, light filled home with every comfort you can hope for.

If you work from home (I do), there is a good set up of screens and high-speed internet for you to connect to. There is a heat pump system that keeps the house at a constant temperature but also the option of lighting up the fireplace on those slow winter days. The kitchen and bathroom are new and well equipped and have views to the surrounding mountains, the horses and all the little resident birdies that hop about the garden. It is a 3 bedroom house, so it could accommodate a family, but it is currently set up for a couple and only one room is fitted as a bedroom with a king size, super comfy, mattress.

Around the property there is nothing much that needs doing but it would be great if you could help keep the horse's shelter clean (rake the manure every now and then), so they can be comfortable.

It is a wildlife haven, with visiting black cockatoos, wedge tail eagles, forty spotted pardalotes, pink robins, fairy wrens, flame robins… and if you are lucky you might get to see a quoll or hear the devils at night.

There are also lots of hiking trails in the area, the MONA museum is at a 10-minute drive, Hobart CBD and wharf areas are 20 minutes away. Either way if you want to explore or chill it makes for a very good base point.

As it is not the first time we go away, we have a full "in case of emergency" support network of friends and neighbours (plus vets in case of animal emergency) so you wouldn't be on your own if anything goes wrong, plus we will be contactable online at all times.

We will leave everything in tip top shape for you, animals, house and we don’t ask that you keep it immaculate, but that you clean after yourself and respect all the hard work and love that has gone into making our home what it is.

Let us know if this sounds like something you would enjoy and we can keep on chatting :-)

Angus & Saioa

Contact Homeowner

Sorry, this assignment has been closed.