• Suburb : HOOKSWOOD 4415
  • Region : Darling Downs
  • State : Queensland
  • Duration : 43 days
  • Arrive : 26-Jul-2024
  • Depart : 06-Sep-2024
  • Pet care required : Cats
  • Special features : No Garden Care
  • Location :


We live in a small cabin, off grid on a 2500 acre bush block. We’re looking for someone to come out and look after our 2 cats.

The house is a 45sqm cabin, with a generous verandah. The kitchen, dining, bedroom and study are all in one large space. The only other room is the bathroom. It’s fully off-grid but the solar system runs fans, lights, fridge, Starlink internet and all your digital devices no problems (just no electric kettle, microwave or high draw appliances). All water is rainwater (30KL) and we use a composting toilet system (Humanure style). Wood stove for winter makes it super cozy and as warm as you like. Firewood chopped and ready to go.

LPG hotwater and cooktop and oven. Full sized fridge, double sink. Internet is fast and unlimited, but phone reception is Telstra only and a bit patchy (but wifi calling is totally fine). Generous verandah on N and W side. Outdoor wood fired pizza oven as well. Basically like a little studio apartment in the middle of the bush.

The property is 2500 acres of untouched bushland; there is a 100m long lagoon about 1km from the cabin, but few other tracks. Totally peaceful out here, and you have absolute privacy.

Location: The property is located in the Western Downs region of QLD, nearest town is Miles (30 min) then Chinchilla (40min) which has all amenities of good regional town.

Pets: We have two cats (Tulsi and Beanie) and they are very loving and carefree cats. They spend the day coming and going inside and out, but need to be kept inside overnight. You’d be feeding them 2x daily and emptying litter 1x daily and giving them lots of love and pats. Otherwise they’re pretty easy going.


We’re looking for someone to care for our cats primarily, additionally to water the a few pot plants on verandah.

We’re also looking for someone who is happy to stay put on the property most of the time. If you like to/need to go out to town every few days, then this isn’t the best gig.


Unlimited high speed internet, water and power are all free.

We can arrange for you to use our vehicle to go to town (or bring your own), but we ask you pay for the fuel.

Contact Homeowner

Sorry, this assignment has been closed.