• Suburb : MALVERN 5061
  • Region : Adelaide
  • State : South Australia
  • Duration : 20 days
  • Arrive : 20-Jul-2021
  • Depart : 08-Aug-2021
  • Pet care required : Dogs
  • Special features :
  • Location : Supermarket, Restaurants



We are a semiretired professional couple who plan to travel to the NT for 3 weeks in July-August. We are keen to find a reliable house sitter(s) to care for our 7 yo well trained, affectionate, quiet border collie (Archie) and our house in Malvern, SA (near Unley) which is ~5km south of the GPO.

The house and garden are not high maintenance as we keep them very neat, tidy and clean. It is a modern 2 story house built 7 years ago with a lap pool (although July-August is a bit cold to swim!). A pool guy cleans it fortnightly so the sitter would not need to worry about that.

Downstairs is the living area, modern kitchen, European laundry and powder room plus an undercover area with seats and dining table for relaxing in the winter sun with easy to look after granite tiles throughout. Upstairs is carpeted and has 3 bedrooms and a second living area. There is a gas log fire downstairs and reverse cycle AC throughout. We would expect the house sitter to keep it neat, clean and tidy as we do, as well as lock up and use the monitored alarm when away.

The garden is very low maintenance needing a little occasional weeding. There are no lawns to mow! It is all automatically irrigated.

Archie needs at least an hour walk every day and loves to play fetch with a ball on Unley oval which is an approximate 20-30 minute walk away. There are a number of other great walk destinations also for a coffee and snack, including a terrific artisan bakery and cafe a short stroll away. He gets fed morning and lunch with kibble (his only food as he has a delicate gut) and a dental stick in the evening. He needs to be brushed every couple of days to keep his shedding under control. He sleeps indoors on a mat in our bedroom. He can be left occasionally for a couple of hours but adores companionship even if you are just sitting reading or watching TV, as well as car rides.

Malvern is a beautiful established suburb 5km from the city centre. Paddy used to walk to work in the CBD sometimes (which took 50 minutes) through tree lined streets and parklands. There are also good bus routes on main roads a few minutes walk away.

There won't be the ability to garage vehicle(s) or park off street as the garage will be occupied by our 2 cars we are afraid, but there is excellent on street parking outside.

We would expect our house sitter(s) to be nonsmoker(s) and experienced and have excellent references and preferably a police check.

Thanks for reading this. If interested can we give you a call please?

Paddy, Susan and Archie the border collie

Contact Homeowner

Sorry, this assignment has been closed.