• Suburb : ARAKOON 2431
  • Region : Mid-North Coast
  • State : New South Wales
  • Duration : 18 days
  • Arrive : 20-Aug-2023
  • Depart : 06-Sep-2023
  • Pet care required : Dogs
  • Special features :
  • Location : Supermarket, Restaurants


Hello sitters.

We’re looking for somebody to take care of our house and two happy and friendly Labradors Millie & Boof between 20th August and 6th September 2023.

Our house is located in Arakoon near South West Rocks on the NSW Mid North Coast. Sitting high on a hill we have great views over Trial Bay and Yarrahappini Mountain and its a short walk or drive to the beach, Smoky Cape lighthouse and Hat Head National Park. Being on a hill means we have a steep driveway and a couple of flights of stairs to contend with, so it's not really suitable for people with mobility issues. The steep driveway also means that the house is not accessible in a caravan. There is of course car parking available at the house. There are two queen size bedrooms available, both en-suite. The house itself is modern and open plan and recently renovated. We have good wifi available if you need to work or stream video. The street is quiet and peaceful.

No significant maintenance or gardening required other than watering plants, picking up a few poo bombs, mowing the small lawn occasionally and of course bringing in the mail and putting the bins out.

Our main concern is that our beautiful dogs have some company and daily walks while we're away. They are both well behaved and (reasonably) obedient and will do whatever you want for a treat. They love their daily walk on the nearby leash-free beach where they have a lot of local doggy friends. We always take them down there in the car (2 minutes), but if you don't mind hills, it's only a 5 minute walk.

They both love to chase balls and are non aggressive to other dogs. They do pull a bit on the lead, so need regular reminders to heel, but most of their walks are off lead and their recall to a clicker (and treat) is excellent.

Millie is quiet and smoochie and loves cuddles and belly rubs. Boof is playful, enthusiastic and a bit clumsy, but very good natured. He doesn't like thunder and likes to be with people if it's stormy. Millie couldn't care less. They have a labradoodle mate that regularly drops by (unannounced) from a neighbouring house, so don't be surprised if you suddenly find 3 dogs in the house instead of two.

They are inside dogs so if you don't like sharing the couch, getting hair on you or being licked occasionally this wouldn’t be the job for you.

They have no special dietary requirements or grooming, medication needs so they're really very easy to care for. They're easy to put to bed (in the laundry) with a goodnight chicken wing. They're fine to be left on their own for a few hours if you need to go out and they seldom bark.

The nearest shops are a few kms away and there's plenty of cafes and restaurants in SWR if that's your thing.

Our ideal sitter (single or couple) would first and foremost be genuine dog lovers, happy to share the space with spoilt pooches and give them the love and attention that they’re used to. You’d need to be fit enough to tackle hills and stairs and daily walks on the beach. Ideally not working, or able to work from home to minimise the time the dogs are left alone. Sexuality, religion, race or political persuasion - couldn’t care less as long as you’re honest, reliable, trustworthy, clean, caring and, of course, love dogs. We’d be happy to send photos of the house and dogs and a guide to the house, the area and the dogs daily routine if you think you might be interested in the sit. We’d also be happy to have you stay a night or two with us before the sit so we can do a full orientation.

If the “crazy dog people” summary above hasn’t put you off and you’re interested in visiting this beautiful part of the country, this might be the sit for. We look forward to hearing from you. Cheers. David & Kerri.

Contact Homeowner

Sorry, this assignment has been closed.