• Suburb : WALLALONG 2320
  • Region : Hunter
  • State : New South Wales
  • Duration : 64 days
  • Arrive : 28-Mar-2022
  • Depart : 30-May-2022
  • Pet care required : Cats, Fish
  • Special features : Caravan Parking
  • Location :


We have a 2brm 2 Study, single story home on 3/4 acre in a semi rural area. Though we have lots of gardens, they are generally low maintenance and automatically watered, so all that is really needed is to mow the lawns (with a ride on).

We have two elderly cats, one of which needs twice daily medication. We also have pond fish that should be fed once a day. We have lot's of visiting birds that appreciate a handout.

Wallalong is about 15 min drive from Maitland, Greenhills or Raymond Terrace (main shopping centres) and about 40min into Newcastle. The nearest shop is 6km. We are about 10 min walk to the Paterson River. There are a few nice country walks around the area. There is no public transport.

This is our retirement home so we have set it up to be comfortable and relaxing, hence the nice gardens and privacy from the neighbours.

Our ideal house sitters would be people who can care for the cats, are prepared to keep the lawn mowed (it takes about 40min and at that time of year it should be down to less than once a week), and keep the house clean and tidy. The ability to fix little things - such as if the garden watering system springs a leak would be advantageous.

The cats belong to our daughter who lives locally and is able to care for them now and again if you want to have the odd day or night away.

The house is not childproof and we have cats here so our chosen sitters won't have young children or pets to bring with them.

We have space to park a caravan as long as you are good at reversing up a 20m driveway.

We would be interested to hear from you if you are available for this period - the actual dates are very negotiable - basically we are looking at approximately 2 months away around April/May so if you have dates that suit you better, please mention that in your response. This would fit nicely between the two jobs already advertised in East Maitland.

Our normal process is to give people a week or so to respond then create a short list for closer consideration. The ability for us to meet in the near future is always an advantage :-)


Heather and Geoff

Contact Homeowner

Sorry, this assignment has been closed.